Press Room

Anne G. Osborn, MD, FACR

Anne G. Osborn, MD, is University Distinguished Professor of Radiology at the University of Utah School of Medicine. She holds the William H. and Patricia W. Child Presidential Endowed Chair in Radiology at the University of Utah. Dr. Osborn is an internationally-acclaimed teacher and lecturer and is regarded as one of the world’s most prominent neuroradiologists. She is the author of several texts that are considered the definitive references in her field. Her comprehensive teaching textbook, Diagnostic Neuroradiology won the 1995 American Publishers Association award as the Best Textbook in Clinical Medicine. Her other texts have been equally acclaimed. Diagnostic Cerebral Angiography, 2e received rave reviews and remains one of the most popular texts on the subject. Her 2006 book, Diagnostic and Surgical Imaging Anatomy: Brain, Spine, Head and Neck, which she co-authored with Dr. Ric Harnsberger, received First Prize in the 2007 British Medical Association’s annual Medical Book Competition. Dr. Osborn’s PocketRadiologist: Brain was one of the first radiology texts created specifically for hand-held computers (PDA). A joint collaboration between Elsevier Health Sciences and Amirsys, a database publishing and radiology informatics company she co-founded with Dr. Ric Harnsberger, PocketRadiologist: Brain has since then become the most-translated medical book series in history and is used all over the world. Dr. Osborn was cited as one of the “20 Most Influential” people in radiology by Diagnostic Imaging magazine in its November 2002 issue and has been profiled in the widely-read trade publication as one of four innovative educators inspiring a generation of radiologists to excel in research, clinical skill, and leadership. She was the first woman elected president of the American Society of Neuroradiology, the largest subspecialty society in radiology. She served as First Vice-President of the Radiological Society of North America and Chair of the Board of Trustees of the RSNA’s Research and Education Foundation.